Wendy’s Pretzel Pub Advertising

I tweeted at Wendy’s a while back for the class project, and they just came out with a new youtube video using one of my tweets.  It’s basically a “love story” about their new chicken pretzel pub with a script made up of tweets about Wendy’s.  I think it’s an interesting marketing strategy that mixes different types of social media.  However, I question the ad’s effectiveness.  The ad overall isn’t that funny; but maybe Wendy’s was attempting to use so many real tweets to involve different people and their networks (kind of like what we’ve been discussing in class lately).  Outside of this class, I don’t think I would’ve shared the video; and I think I’m a loyal enough Wendy’s customer that I don’t really need to be advertised to.

I’d be interested to hear what other people think; is this a good use of social media advertising?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wendy’s Pretzel Pub Advertising

  1. I think it is creative in that builds a ‘story’ around real customer testimonials. Also, as we discussed in class today, they are reaching out to other people’s social networks. You could imagine them very easily creating multiple versions of this video with tweets of different loyal customers to maximize their reach.

  2. I think it’s funny ;).

    Want to talk about the campaign, how it’s doing, why we did it, etc. reach out via Twitter @brhoten.

    Brandon Rhoten
    VP, Digital
    Wendy’s

Leave a Reply

