Top Four Reasons to Quit Facebook

Perhaps a bit contrary to the message of this course, I thought this article added a fresh perspective on social media by providing the top four reasons to quit Facebook. Since social media is so engrained in 21st century culture and it is frightening to be thought of as an outsider with no social media presence, this article provides some perspective on life before Facebook and why we should aim to return to that era. Enjoy!

http://technorati.com/social-media/article/the-top-four-reasons-to-quit/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top Four Reasons to Quit Facebook

  1. lserhan says:

    I agree that social media sites such as Facebook can take a toll on people. For a procrastinator, Facebook is an easy tool to waste many hours on. In the end, however, those people have not achieved anything in those hours spent on Facebook. Also, I wonder if upcoming research will prove or disprove any health consequences that this article mentions after using Facebook extensively. Though I agree with most of what this article discusses, I still will keep my Facebook account.

  2. I think that the jury is still out on the negative health consequences of Facebook. I think it depends a lot on how you use it. For example, whether you use it to keep in touch with friends versus use it to keep track (and be jealous) of every interesting thing that someone else is doing.

  3. coshmith says:

    Last spring I made the decision to sacrifice Facebook for Lent- and a sacrifice it was indeed! I wasn’t just giving up a website. I was actually giving up a part of my life, and here’s why:

    Facebook keeps me in the know and in touch with friends and family across the globe. Deactivating my account eliminated this capability. With Facebook, at my fingertips is the opportunity to contact my cousin in Singapore (for free, I might add!), stay in touch with friends from grade school in Ohio, and watch my adorable cousins in New York growing up. My parents’ generation did not have that luxury, and it’s not a luxury I’m willing to part with. Sure, maybe it’s not the same “quality” of interaction as face to face, but I will take it any day over no contact at all.

    While it was an interesting 40 day experiment, I won’t be deleting my page indefinitely anytime soon. If you’re concerned about privacy, manage your settings! And if you’re wasting too much time on the site… maybe Facebook isn’t the problem, you are. Use it in moderation. Self control.

  4. ssack2013 says:

    Regardless of the fact that most Facebook users waste an unnecessary amount of time uploading photos and changing their statuses, I still believe that Facebook is one of the most impressive inventions ever created. Facebook has made it unbelievably easy to find people we thought we would never see or meet again, it connects businesses with millions of people that they would otherwise not have any contact with, and makes it incredibly easy for users to share any link off the internet such as a video clip from youtube or a New York Times article with all of their friends. The problem is that people don’t know when to not use it. It becomes unhealthy when it is used to chronically complain or when it takes away from more important things in life like school, work, or family. Although many people do use it for complaining and/or other unproductive reasons, I believe most people use it in the way it is meant to be used. Quitting Facebook is literally eliminating a valuable tool that you can make good use of.

Leave a Reply

